West Virginia Operation Lifesaver


Look, Listen & Live    


Pre- Registration

WVOL Rail Camp 2014

Annual Presenter's Meeting Held In Barboursville


The annual West Virginia Operation Lifesaver Presenters' meeting and lunch was held recently at the Hampton Inn in Barboursville. This meeting is also the annual awards meeting and several awards were presented to WVOL presenters.

The Mountaineer Award is given each year to presenters who have excelled during the previous year. According to State Coordinator, John Perry, "These folks are the people who volunteer to help with our Rail Camp and different fairs and festivals as well as doing Operation Lifesaver presentations during the year." This year Mountaineer Awards were presented to Anthony Cole, Charlie Bickford, LeAndria Reed, Ross Dye III, Errin Jewell, Brian Cavender, Seth Meeks, Ray Murdock IV, Kimberley Baker and Dwight Icenhower. Roger "Quincy" Adams (right) receives the Presenter of the year award from WVOL Board Member Ray Murdock, III (Clink photo for larger image)

Those receiving the Superior Service Award for 2011 were Wayne Sexton, Betty Reed, Ray Murdock III and Howard McVey III.

The Top Presenter Award was presented to the top three presenters for the year. They are Ira Baldwin with 25 presentations and ten special events and Dwight Icenhower took second place with 47 presentations and seven special events. The 2011 Presenter of the year Award went to Roger "Quincy" Adams who did 97 presentations and worked five special events.

The WVOL Board of Directors selected Charlie Bickford as the 2011 Volunteer of the Year. WVOL Board Chairman, Roger Lipscomb said, "Charlie will volunteer to help at most of our events and is there for us whenever he can be. He is at most of our events and went to lifeguard school so that we would have an in house lifeguard at the WVOL Rail Camp."

The Educational Partner of the Year Award was awarded to Rahall Transportation Institute and our Corporate Partner of the Year went to TrakSpec Railroad Corp.

Ross E. Dye, III was presented a Lifetime Achievement Award at the meeting. Perry said, "This is only the second time this award has been given since WVOL began in 1984. Ross is a dedicated presenter and presenter trainer who has worked for years getting our safety message out." Dye is a retired Norfolk Southern employee and continues to work with Operation Lifesaver.

A plaque of Appreciation was presented to the South Branch Valley Railroad and was received by railroad Superintendent John Philbrick for their help with the WVOL Rail Camp each summer. Perry noted, "Without the South Branch Valley Railroad our camp would not be possible. John and West Virginia State Rail Authority Director, Cindy Butler bend over backwards to make sure our camp goes well."

Ross E. Dye, III accepts the  Lifetime Achievement Award from WVOL Board of DIrectors Mamber Ray Murdock, III.

Charlie Bickford receives the Volunteer of the Year Award from WVOL Board Member Ray Murdock, III


(click all photos for a larger image)